Civic Nebraska adds 5 to board of directors

César Garcia, Drew Davies, Yohance Christie, Carol A. Subiabre, and Elizabeth Everett officially joined the board in June, bringing Civic Nebraska Board of Directors membership to 13.


Civic Nebraska has expanded its board of directors with the appointment of five new board members. The board supports and guides the nonprofit organization in its mission to build a more modern and robust democracy for all Nebraskans.

César Garcia, Drew Davies, Yohance Christie, Carol A. Subiabre, and Elizabeth Everett officially joined the board in June, bringing Civic Nebraska Board of Directors membership to 13.

Civic Nebraska was founded in 2008 as Nebraskans for Civic Reform by a group of politically diverse University of Nebraska students. Many who were involved at the founding have remained active in the organization, including several who currently serve on the board of directors.

The addition of board members has been a strategic objective for Civic Nebraska since 2017 and also reflects the upward trajectory of the organization, Executive Director Adam Morfeld said.

“As we continue to build momentum in voting rights, civic health, and youth civic leadership in communities across the state, Civic Nebraska knows that more, and more diverse, voices are needed to truly fulfill our mission,” Morfeld said. “I am looking forward to working closely with our board as we move into a new era of leadership.”

New Civic Nebraska Board of Directors members, from left: Carol A. Subiabre, Yohance Christie, César Garcia, Drew Davies, and Elizabeth Everett.

The new board members are:

Drew Davies. The owner of Oxide Design, Davies creates designs that solve problems through clarity. He is the national president emeritus of AIGA, the professional association for design, and has been honored as an AIGA Fellow. He is the only Nebraskan to serve as a judge for the Communication Arts Design Annual, the most exclusive major design competition in the world. Davies formerly served on Civic Nebraska’s Board of Advisers. He lives in Omaha.

Elizabeth Everett. A policy associate at First Five Nebraska, Everett leads the organization’s efforts to promote early childhood as a key economic development principle for the state. She previously lived in Washington, D.C. and worked for Sen. John McCain (R-Arizona) in both his office and on the Senate Armed Services Committee. In these roles, she worked on several pieces of legislation, including the annual National Defense Authorization Act, the Clay Hunt Suicide Prevention for American Veterans Act and the Veterans Access, Choice, and Accountability Act. She lives in Lincoln.

César Garcia. The executive director of Magic City Redevelopment Corp., a nonprofit organization, Garcia is a licensed engineer and active community leader. With Magic City Redevelopment, Garcia leads the revitalization in areas of south Omaha, focusing on a more healthy, sustainable, and mixed-income community. He lives in Omaha.

Carol A. Subiabre. A lecturer of Spanish at the University of Nebraska since 2005, Subiabre also is the coordinator of the Basic Intermediate Level. In the last seven years, she and her husband David have worked closely with the Hispanic community, especially in the field of immigration. A native of Savannah, Georgia, she lives in Lincoln.

Yohance Christie. An assistant Lancaster County public defender since 2009, Christie is a member of the NAACP Lincoln Chapter and is past-president of the Inns of Court Lincoln Chapter. Christie also serves on boards of Family Service, the Lincoln Bar Association, and the College of Law Dean’s Advisory Board. He lives in Lincoln.

A full list of Civic Nebraska Board of Directors members can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Notify of


  • Lincoln
    1111 Lincoln Mall Suite 350, Lincoln NE 68508
  • Omaha
    6400 University Drive, N CEC 117.12, Omaha NE 68182-0708
  • Greater Nebraska
    203 N. Locust St., Grand Island NE 68801
  • Contact Us

After School Programs

  • Sherman Elementary School

    5618 N 14th Ave.
    Omaha, NE 68110

  • Lewis and Clark Middle School

    6901 Burt St.
    Omaha, NE 68132

  • Lothrop Elementary School

    3300 N. 22nd St.
    Omaha, NE 68110

  • Campbell Elementary School

    2200 Dodge St.
    Lincoln, NE 68521

  • Lincoln High School

    2229 J St.
    Lincoln, NE 68510

  • Lincoln Northeast High School

    2635 N. 63rd St.
    Lincoln, NE 68507

  • Randolph Elementary School

    1024 S. 37th St.
    Lincoln, NE 68510

  • Raymond Central Elementary Schools

    Valparaiso and Ceresco
    Coming Fall 2020